Lawson Wins 2019 "Excellence in Safety" Award

Posted: June 17, 2019

On May 22, the University Laboratory Safety Committee (ULSC) at The Ohio State University recognized the third annual recipients of the “Excellence in Safety” Award. The award recognizes three categories of those who have made a considerable contribution to improving laboratory safety on the Ohio State campus: a university faculty or staff member (Staff Award), an undergraduate or graduate student (Student Award) and a laboratory research group (Group Award). Such contributions can be defined as but are not limited to actions taken to prevent injury or illness, outstanding response and cooperation given to resolve unsafe conditions, consistent improvement during laboratory inspections, or any other consistent and proactive demonstration of efforts in support of a positive laboratory safety culture.

Award winners were congratulated by ULSC Vice Chair Kent McGuire, Senior Associate Vice President for Research Dr. Jan Weisenberger, and Vice President and Chief Compliance Officer Gates Garrity-Rokous.

Congratulations to Jim Lawson, winner of the 2019 Staff Award! Thank you for making The Ohio State University a safe working and learning environment for everyone! 

Jan Weisenberger (L) and Jim Lawson (R)
Jan Weisenberger (L) and Jim Lawson (R)
Staff Award - Jim Lawson, the Assistant Director, Aerospace Research Center (ARC), College of Engineering, oversees a complex, high-end collection of laboratories that deal with many hazards, including high-pressure air, lasers, chemicals, combustion, and high-speed rotating machinery.  He has identified several key investments to improve safety, including funding for better electrical safety, formation of a safety committee for ARC, and facilitating the development of Standard Operation Procedures for complex or hazardous operations.  Jim is a strong mentor for other staff and students and has brought a positive, transformative change to the safety culture of the laboratories at ARC.

*Excerpt reposted from Environmental Health and Safety "Excellence in Safety" Award Winners - 2019

Categories: AwardsStaff